ATF_728

Oppo Reno 6 5G Review

Is the Reno 6 the answer to the recently launched OnePlus Nord 2? Let's find out in our review.

GadgetTimes
The Oppo Reno 6 was launched alongside the Reno 6 Pro. Both smartphones arrived with 5G connectivity. While the 6 Pro is on the higher side of the spectrum in terms of pricing, the vanilla Reno 6 is more affordable and having used it as well as the Reno 6 Pro, we think it just may be the best choice in its class right now.
The Reno 6 borrows a number of features from its Pro sibling starting with Bokeh Flare Portrait filter, 65W fast charging, and a high refresh rate AMOLED display. The Reno 6 does not get the curved display but does get a metal frame which brings a whole new level of premium-ness. But, is the Reno 6 the answer to the recently launched OnePlus Nord 2? Let's find out in our review.
Design and build quality

One of the first things we noticed about the Reno 6 is the design change. The Reno 5 and the Reno 5 Pro feature curved designs while the Reno 6 Pro gets a curved design as well. The Reno 6 Pro curved display design is pretty - but the Reno 6 gets a new design strategy. The flat edge metal frame lends a whole new level of premium feel - kind of how you would feel holding an iPhone 12.

Build quality is a plus on the Reno 6 - with absolutely no gaps between the display and the frame. The back panel gives off a pearlescent glow while the triple camera module looks at home - although slightly protruding from the back.

GadgetTimes
GT Pro Design - 2021-08-20T162430.780

The frame gets a power button on the right side while the left side gets the volume rockers - both of which feel very tactile and clickety. The bottom side of the frame features the SIM tray, a USB Type-C port, and a speaker grille. There are two microphones - at the top and bottom of the frame. Also, the Reno 6 does not get stereo speakers - something we would have wanted in a phone at this price point.

GadgetTimes
GT Pro Design - 2021-08-20T162549.877

GadgetTimes
GT Pro Design - 2021-08-20T163417.259

GadgetTimes
GT Pro Design - 2021-08-20T163455.017

A major point to make - Oppo has utilised good premium materials to construct the Reno 6 and design nuances aside - the Reno 6 feels a much better put together device than any other phone in its class.

Oppo Reno 6 5G Display Review:

The Reno 6 5G features a 6.4-inch FHD+ AMOLED panel with a resolution of 1080 x 2400 pixels and a 90Hz refresh rate and a touch sampling rate of 180Hz. It's nothing unique for a smartphone at this price point, and we feel Oppo could do a lot better here. That said, it is still a decent display with good visibility out in the sun with its 750 nits of brightness. The colours look punchy and bright.

GadgetTimes
GT Pro Design - 2021-08-20T162418.706

The display also supports HDR10 and Widevine L1 which means watching OTT content was a plus. The display is protected by Corning Gorilla Glass 5 and also gets an in-display fingerprint scanner upfront.

Oppo Reno 6 5G: Software and Performance

The Reno 6 5G arrives with 8GB of LPDDR4X RAM and 128GB of internal storage. Another common combination, the Reno 6 comes powered by the MediaTek Dimensity 900 chipset. One of the first smartphones to utilise this 6nm chip - the octa-core SoC can take quite a hit and still will be ready for more.

GadgetTimes
GT Pro Design - 2021-08-20T162353.291

The Reno 6 had enough power to blaze through the entire day of tasks and normal usage. The 90Hz made it a breeze scrolling through menus. We tried playing games like BGMI, Asphalt, and Real Racing on it. BGMI did lag slightly - but the other games worked perfectly well. The Reno 6 did not heat up during our tests. Although the battery did take a hit during our gaming sessions.

The software ColorOS 11.3 which is based on Android 11 brings the Game Toolkit, Enhanced Dark Mode, Screen recording, Smart Sidebar, Quick launch, Floating window, and Conversation bubbles. The Lock Screen Magazine was disabled as soon as the phone was set up - other than the rest of the crazy bloatware which accompanies ColorOS.

Oppo Reno 6 5G Camera Review:

The Reno 6 does not get the rear depth camera which is available on the Reno 6 Pro - other than that - the rest of the camera hardware is the same. The Reno 6 gets a 64-megapixel shooter, an 8-megapixel ultra-wide sensor, and a 2-megapixel macro shooter at the back. There is a 32-megapixel at the front for selfies.

GadgetTimes
GT Pro Design - 2021-08-20T162559.588

Daylight photos look pretty decent from the Reno 6 - with sharp details and bright colours. The ultra-wide-angle sensor leaned more on the cooler side of the temperature spectrum. Close up shots looked decent with rich details and accurate colours. The night mode did its job - scraping up the noise element in the photos. Even shots which were taken with the ultra-wide-angle sensor were usable.
GadgetTimes
IMG20210820155306

GadgetTimes
IMG20210820155313

GadgetTimes
IMG20210820155319

GadgetTimes
IMG20210820155326

GadgetTimes
IMG20210820155331

GadgetTimes
With Night Mode

GadgetTimes
Without Night Mode

Oppo Reno 6 5G: Battery and Charging

The Reno 6 gets a 4300mAh battery which is not a big unit considering the other smartphones in its class. However, in our daily usage, we were able to get through an entire day without reaching out for the charger. The Reno 6 also performed well in heavy-duty sessions where we ploughed through a couple of hours of gaming and although the battery level did drop, it was nothing out of the ordinary. Also, the phone arrives with a 65W fast charging adapter so we were able to get back up and running in less than 40 minutes.

Verdict: Should you buy Oppo Reno 6 5G?

The Reno 6 gets a flat display, unlike the curvy adventures of the Reno 6 Pro. The Reno 6 5G does get the job done, but is it what encompasses good value?

GadgetTimes
GT Pro Design - 2021-08-20T162445.809

The Reno 6 gets a premium metal frame flat edge, decent cameras, a set of good hardware specs which makes performance smooth and steady on difficult days. The 90Hz display does leave us wanting more sometimes but we are okay with it for now - the AMOLED 90Hz is alright. The design is stunning, the cameras decent, and the 65W fast charging makes up for the missing stereo speakers and the bloatware. All in all, a phone with decent specs and a premium build like the iPhone 12 - it would be crazy to not recommend this phone in the sub Rs 30k class.

Answering the question - yes, the Reno 6 5G has good value.

Oppo Reno 6 5G

Summary
performanceMediaTek Dimensity 900 MT6877
display6.43 inches (16.33 cm)
storage128 GB
camera64 MP + 8 MP + 2 MP
battery4300 mAh
price in_india29990 INR
ram8 GB
Web Title oppo reno 6 5g review
Oops... Seems you are offline